Videogame mythologies
du 11 mars
au 9 décembre 2012
Maison d’Ailleurs
Yverdon-les-Bains

Immersion, Robbie Cooper

The Evolution of Game Controllers, Nicolas Nova & Laurent Bolli

Faces, Arturo Castro & Kyle McDonald

HHCI Human to Human Computer Interface, Julian Oliver

Alter Ego, Robbie Cooper

Bodies and Minds

Playing a game also implies usually playing a role. The shift in identity that we assume when we engage in gaming is one of its more intriguing qualities. What is the relationship that we establish with our avatars, those alternative identities we embody as we move around the game world? How does our sense of self changes when we customize a digital character to look and behave exactly as we wouldn’t in real life?

If there is a tension between the identity of our avatar and our own, there is also a intriguing relationship between our two bodies at both sides of the screen. Even seated comfortably, we cannot help to jump, wave our hands, moan and shout, as both bodies – flesh and pixels – are intertwined in the same action.

Joysticks and game pads have been the traditional interface between the player and the avatar, the thread that entangles both bodies. In recent years, though, both the video game industry and independent artists and researchers have presented new innovative ways to strengthen the role of the body in game interaction. From Nintendo’s Wii and Microsoft’s Kinect to more experimental corporal interfaces that play with notions of control and even pain, the future of game interaction will, no doubt, involve our flesh and skin in unexpected ways.

Alter Ego, Robbie Cooper
Immersion, Robbie Cooper
Evolution of Game Controllers, Nicolas Nova and Laurent Bolli
Faces, Arturo Castro and Kyle McDonald
HHCI – Human to Human Computer Interface, Julian Oliver

Videogame mythologies
du 11 mars
au 9 décembre 2012
Maison d’Ailleurs
Yverdon-les-Bains

Immersion, Robbie Cooper

The Evolution of Game Controllers, Nicolas Nova & Laurent Bolli

Faces, Arturo Castro & Kyle McDonald

HHCI Human to Human Computer Interface, Julian Oliver

Alter Ego, Robbie Cooper

Bodies and Minds

En général, jouer à un jeu implique aussi de jouer un rôle. Le glissement d’identité que nous opérons lorsque nous lançons une partie de jeu constitue l’un des aspects les plus fascinants de cette activité. Quel type de relation établissons-nous avec nos avatars, ces identités alternatives que nous investissons pour évoluer dans l’univers du jeu ? A quel point la conscience de soi se modifie-t-elle lorsque nous créons un personnage numérique de manière à ce que son apparence et son comportement soient très différents des nôtres dans la vie réelle?

S’il y a une tension entre notre identité et celle de notre avatar, une relation particulière se noue également entre nos deux corps de chaque côté de l’écran. Même confortablement assis, nous ne pouvons pas nous empêcher de sauter, de bouger nos mains, de râler et de crier, car les deux corps – de chair et de pixels – sont impliqués dans la même action.

Joysticks et manettes de jeu ont servi d’interfaces traditionnelles entre joueurs et avatars, de liens unissant les deux corps. Ces dernières années, aussi bien l’industrie du jeu vidéo que les artistes et chercheurs indépendants ont présenté des moyens novateurs permettant de renforcer l’implication corporelle dans l’interaction vidéoludique. L’évolution à partir de la Nintendo Wii et du Kinect de Microsoft vers des interfaces corporelles expérimentales, jouant avec les notions de contrôle et même de douleur, laisse présager une interaction de jeu future impliquant assurément notre peau et notre chair de façons inattendues.

Alter Ego, Robbie Cooper
Immersion, Robbie Cooper
Evolution of Game Controllers, Nicolas Nova et Laurent Bolli
Faces, Arturo Castro et Kyle McDonald
HHCI – Human to Human Computer Interface, Julian Oliver