Videogame mythologies
du 11 mars
au 9 décembre 2012
Maison d’Ailleurs
Yverdon-les-Bains

Gold Farmers, Ge Jin

Second Skin, Juan Carlos Piñeiro

Playing the World’s Problems, an Arcade of Serious Games

Playing the World’s Problems, an Arcade of Serious Games

The City as a Game Development Kit, Head–Genève

The City as a Game Development Kit, Head–Genève

Assault on Reality

Play is not an innocent activity that only children engage in; play, simulation and enactment are present in multiple dimensions of society. Today, the connection between reality and games is more ambiguous and blurred than what we have traditionally thought.

From war games and military simulacra to the simulation of financial markets, or the use of games in management, the power of taking decisions through playing strategies is increasingly finding strength in multiple domains.

Mobile technologies are putting games into the pockets of commuters and filling empty hours, and new disciplines like location based and augmented reality games are avoiding synthetic worlds and using our everyday surroundings as the scenarios for game experiences. Today game designers who are developing experiences where the real and the virtual mingle in unexpected ways.

In the opposite direction, reality is also entering the narratives of games through the introduction of politics, activism, education and propaganda in the arguments of video games. Serious games and political games, used in political campaigns and pedagogic efforts, are one side of the coin; activist projects and propaganda are other examples of the capacity of games to modify reality.

Playing the World’s Problems, une arcade de jeux sérieux:

Food Force, United Nations World Food Programme, 2005
CityOne, IBM, 2010
Foldit, Center for Game Science, University of Washington, 2008
Fate of the World, Red Redemption, 2011
ACTUV Tactics Simulator, DARPA, 2011
Power of Research, TPM Games & European Commission, 2011

The City as a Game Development Kit, Playing the City, Head – Genève
Gold Farmers, Ge Jin, documentary
Second Skin, Juan Carlos Piñeiro, documentary

Videogame mythologies
du 11 mars
au 9 décembre 2012
Maison d’Ailleurs
Yverdon-les-Bains

Gold Farmers, Ge Jin

Second Skin, Juan Carlos Piñeiro

Playing the World’s Problems, an Arcade of Serious Games

Playing the World’s Problems, an Arcade of Serious Games

The City as a Game Development Kit, Head–Genève

The City as a Game Development Kit, Head–Genève

Assault on Reality

Jouer n’est pas une activité innocente uniquement destinée aux enfants. Le jeu, la simulation et la représentation sont présents dans de nombreuses dimensions de la société. Aujourd’hui, le lien entre réa- lité et jeux est plus ambigu et plus flou que ce que nous avions longtemps imaginé.

Des jeux de guerre et des simulacres militaires à la modélisation des marchés financiers, en passant par l’utilisation des jeux dans le champ de la gestion, il apparaît que la possibilité de prendre des décisions grâce à des stratégies de jeu gagne en importance dans de multiples domaines.

Grâce aux technologies mobiles, les jeux se glissent dans nos poches de pendulaires et remplissent nos heures creuses. Loin des mondes de synthèse, les jeux basés sur la géolocalisation ou la réalité augmentée intègrent l’environnement quotidien au cœur de leurs scénarii. Les concepteurs de jeux élaborent des expériences vidéoludiques où le réel et le virtuel s’enchevêtrent de façons inattendues.

A l’inverse, la réalité fait son entrée dans les narrations vidéoludiques par l’intermédiaire de thèmes incluant des éléments politiques, activistes, éducatifs et propa- gandistes. Les jeux sérieux (serious games) et les jeux engagés (political games), utilisés dans le cadre de campagnes politiques et de programmes pédagogiques, ne représentent qu’un côté de la médaille. Les projets activistes et l’endoctrinement constituent d’autres exemples de la capacité des dispositifs vidéoludiques à modifier la réalité.

Playing the World’s Problems, une arcade de jeux sérieux:

Food Force, United Nations World Food Programme, 2005
CityOne, IBM, 2010
Foldit, Center for Game Science, University of Washington, 2008
Fate of the World, Red Redemption, 2011
ACTUV Tactics Simulator, DARPA, 2011
Power of Research, TPM Games & European Commission, 2011

The City as a Game Development Kit, jouer la ville, Head – Genève
Gold Farmers, Ge Jin, documentaire
Second Skin, Juan Carlos Piñeiro, documentaire